Siddal Moor Class of 2016 honoured at Annual Awards Evening

Siddal Moor welcomed back former year 11 students to celebrate their achievements at a glittering awards ceremony on Thursday 24th November.

The evening was attended by honoured guests, Councillor Ray Dutton, the Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Rochdale along with his wife Elaine, the Mayoress. The event was held to formally recognise the successes of the year group and also gave them the opportunity to catch up with former classmates and staff to share good news stories from their new lives.

Current student, Caitlin Fitton entertained guests with a fabulous vocal performance followed by a few words from the Mayor.

Councillor Ray Dutton spoke of his own humble beginnings being raised in Wythenshawe, juggling school and a milk round before joining North Western Gas Board as an apprentice gas fitter in 1966. He talked of how proud he was to be returning to school now as Mayor and spoke to the former students of their own aspirations which could lead them to one day returning to Siddal Moor having achieved their own ambitions.

More than 40 awards were presented for attainment and endeavour in twenty subject areas and the class of 2016 also received their formal GCSE certificates issued by the exam boards.

Headteacher, Ray Baker said he was delighted to welcome back the young people of the class of 2016, whose examination successes had made Siddal Moor the most improved school in the borough.

The Mayor then presented numerous memorial and special awards for varying aspects of school life including achievement, outstanding service as a prefect, work experience, outstanding progress, the Chair of Governor’s award, the Headteacher’s award and attendance. Head and Deputy Head boys and girls and senior prefects were also presented with a memento of their year in office.

Award winners included Harry Downham-Clarke, Ethan Leyden, Rhia Burston-Elwood, Cian Standring, Colin Hodgson, Shannon Berrisford, Heather Maher, John Dyk, Rosie Webster and Elizabeth Isherwood.

This year, a new award was presented in memory of Joe Grieve. Joe was a dedicated, talented and distinguished teacher of Technology at Siddal Moor and had given more than 40 years service to the school until his sad and sudden passing earlier this year. Many of Joe’s former students are now parents themselves. The award for ‘Determination to succeed in Technology’ was presented to Sam Manton by Joe’s daughter Collette Dixon.

The Evening closed with Former Head Boy and Girl, Josh McDaid and Jessica Tyrrell handing over the responsibilities to the current Head Boy and Girl, Adam Chidgey and Isra Ahmed.

Parents commented what a great evening it had been and how lovely it was to see so many former students returning and celebrating together.

Photograph at top of page: Elizabeth Isherwood, winner of the Triple ‘A’ Award for Attendance for 100% over four years and the best attender in the year group

Photograph below: Colin Hodgson, Winner of The Joanne Bramall Award for Work Experience

Declan Reid, Kadie Slinger, Mrs Forster, Libby Pirouzan, GCSE awards and Kadie Slinger won an Attainment in Child Development Award

Harry Thorpe and JoshMcdaid, Deputy Head Boy and Head Boy Prefect Awards

Heather Maher and family, winner of The Award for Outstanding Service in Music and two Endeavour Awards

John Dyk, winner of the Alte Volo Award for outstanding progress at Keystage 4, an Attainment Award and two Endeavour Awards

Katie Wilders, Deputy Head Girl Prefect Award

Mayor Ray Dutton at the Siddal Moor Class of 2016 Annual Awards Evening

Mayor Ray Dutton and Mayoress Elaine Dutton with Mr Baker, Headteacher

Precious Odipe and family, GCSE Awards with proud family

Rhia Burston Elwood, winner of the Paul Lowther Award for Achievement in Drama, Deputy Head Girl Prefect Award, an Attainment Award and an Endeavour Award

Rosie Webster, winner of the Chair of Governors Award for gaining eight A star and one A at GCSE, Senior Prefect Award and three Attainment Awards

Sam Manton and Joe Grieve family, winner of the Joe Grieve Memorial Award for determination to succeed in Technology pictured with Joe’s family

Sam Pakes being presented with an Attainment Award by the Mayor and Mayoress

Comments are closed.