Class of 2017 honoured at Annual Awards Evening

Siddal Moor welcomed back former year 11 students to celebrate their achievements at a glittering awards ceremony on Thursday 23rd November.

The evening was attended by the Class of 2017 and their guests, staff, members of the school governing body, and special guests to present the awards. The event was held to formally recognise the successes of the year group and also gave them the opportunity to catch up with former classmates and staff to share good news stories from their new lives.

Siddal Moor’s recently formed ‘Rock and Pop’ group, entertained guests with a fabulous vocal performance of Human by Rag ‘n’ Bone Man and Viva La Vida by Coldplay. Some of the group are Year 7 students and have worked really hard in a short space of time to form such a tight group.

Headteacher, Ray Baker spoke of the aspirations of the former year group and congratulated the prefect team who had worked above and beyond during their year in office as mentors to the younger students and ambassadors of the school. He then proceeded to present awards accompanied by special guest Mrs Susan Hayes, who after 27 years service at Siddal Moor retires from school life at the end of this term.

36 awards were presented for attainment and endeavour in eighteen subject areas and the class of 2017 also received their formal GCSE certificates issued by the exam boards.

Numerous memorial and special awards were then presented for varying aspects of school life including achievement, outstanding service as a prefect, work experience, outstanding progress, the Chair of Governor’s award, the Headteacher’s award and attendance.

Mrs Glynis Roberts attended to present the James Roberts memorial award for outstanding service as a prefect to Tyler Smith who had been an integral member of the prefect team. This award is presented each year in memory of her son, a former Siddal Moor student, who lost his life tragically in a skiing accident in 2005.

The Joe Grieve memorial award for ‘Determination to succeed in Technology’, was presented for the second year in memory of Joe, a dedicated, talented and distinguished teacher of Technology at Siddal Moor who had given more than 40 years service to the school until his sad and sudden passing in 2016. The award was presented by Joe’s granddaughter Hannah to award winner James McLeish who was proud to receive this honour.

Head and Deputy Head boys and girls and senior prefects were also presented with a memento of their year in office.

Other Award winners included Rhian England, Grace Kelly, Abbie Templin, Kane Ashcroft, Rachel Archibald, Chloe Fairhurst, Isra Ahmed, Jessica Parkinson, Jamie Hamnett, Harrison Jacques, Aneesah Kayani, Adam Chidgey, Courtney Higginson and Courtney Shaw.

The Evening closed with Former Head Boy and Girl, Adam Chidgey and Isra Ahmed handing over the responsibilities to the current Head Boy and Girl, Gareth Payne and Abbie Evans.

Guests commented what a great evening it had been and how lovely it was to see so many former students returning and celebrating together.

Photograph at top of page: Class of 2017 Head Boy and Girl, Adam Chidgey and Isra Ahmed and Deputy Head Boy and Girl, Tyler Smith and Eden Povey

Photograph below: Siddal Moor Rock and Pop Group performing at the Awards Evening

Roo McNevin-Duff being presented with an Attainment in Media Studies Award on stage

James McLeish, winner of the Joe Grieve Memorial Award for determination to succeed in Technology pictured with Joe’s granddaughter Hannah presenting the Award

Daisy Moore being presented with an Attainment in RE Award on stage

Senior Prefects being presented with a memento of their year in office

Tyler Smith, Deputy Head Boy and winner of The Paul Lowther Award for Achievement in Drama, The James Roberts Award for Outstanding Service as a Prefect and Attainment in PE

Kane Ashcroft, winner of the Joanne Bramall Award for work experience

James Theophine, GCSE Awards with proud mum and Dawn Bracken from Siddal Moor

Grace Kelly – received Attainment award in Computing and ICT, Igor Necel, Jasmine Crawshaw, Kacper Pakos and Jenni Haughton – all received GCSE Awards

Owen Jones, Jess Parkinson, Will Birds, Laura Street, Courtney Shaw, Eden Povey, Will Place all received GCSE Awards. They also travelled to our partner school in Thailand in July 2016 as ambassadors

Sophie Holt, Laura Street, Roo McNevin-Duff, Eden Povey and Rhian England all received GCSE Awards pictured with proud family

Chloe Fairhurst, winner of the Alte Volo Award for outstanding progress at Keystage 4, Attainment in French, Endeavour in English Language and Maths and The Triple A Award for Attendance for 100% over all five years along with Jamie Hamnett and Harrison Jacques

Former Head Boy and Girl, Adam Chidgey and Isra Ahmed handing over responsibilities to the current Head Boy and Girl, Gareth Payne and Abbie Evans

Headteacher - Ray Baker, Chair of Governors – Karen McCarthy, Susan Hayes who will retire at Christmas after 27 years service to the school and Deputy Head - Nigel Seaborn

Comments are closed.